Prof. Katleen De Preter elected as chairperson for the new CRIG steering committee (2022-2025)


End of 2022, the new CRIG steering committee was elected (read more) for the next 3 years (until end 2025). The steering committee consists of 8 elected CRIG group leaders (from different faculties of UGent and representatives from UZ Gent and VIB-UGent) and is responsible for the strategic decisions to ensure the realization of CRIG’s mission and objectives (in close collaboration with the operational committee).

We are proud to announce that Prof. Katleen De Preter has been elected as the chairperson of the new CRIG steering committee! Prof. De Preter is heading the Lab of Translational Onco-genomics and Bio-informatics. She is associated with the UGent faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences, and is since Jan 2023 also group leader at the VIB Center for Medical Biotechnology. Her team focuses on the development of analytical and bio-informatic pipelines for diagnostic, prognostic and predictive analysis enabling a more precise cancer management. Katleen obtained an ERC consolidator grant for the “EpiGuide” project, in which she aims to develop a blood test that allows in-time detection of therapy response and resistance in cancer patients under treatment.

Katleen has been one of the founding researchers of the CRIG consortium in our earliest days, has been active in the CRIG steering committee since 2019 and will be chairperson in the new steering committee until the end of 2025. Within CRIG and beyond, Katleen as a talented researcher, great mentor and an enthusiastic colleague with a collaborative mindset. Therefore, we look forward to fruitful collaborations and successes within CRIG the next years!




Picture of the new CRIG steering committee: Prof. Kris Vleminckx, Prof. Karim Vermaelen, Prof. Katleen De Preter, Prof. Steven Goossens, Prof. Wim Ceelen, Prof. Geert van Loo & Prof. Koen Raemdonck. Unfortunately, Prof. Evelyne Meyer was not present when the picture was taken.